Delhi’s Political and Colonial Heritage

Rashtrapati Bhawan
This magnificent structure was built under the British Empire and is a reminder of the colonial history of the city. It is also called the President’s House as it is the residence of the President of the nation. This building merges Mughal and Western architectural styles and the most outstanding influence of Indian architecture can be seen in the form of the copper dome. In the centre of its forecourt, behind the high railing fence, lies the 44m high Jaipur Column. This sandstone column was a gift from the Maharaja of Jaipur. Lying to the west of the President’s house are the exotic Mughal Gardens. At the gates of the Rashtrapati Bhawan, mounted and on-foot troops parade in full uniform on Saturday mornings.

The Parliament House
This is the seat of Indian politics, situated on Parliament Street, north of Rajpath. It was designed by Sir Herbert Baker and was originally called the Circular House, because of its shape. The corridor has a large number of sentinels, nearly 247 which dot the 173m disc which serves as a substratum in this structure. It also portrays the architecture of the Mughal era in the boundary walls which are made of carved sandstone and have delicate motifs on them. One can get a permit from the reception office and then visit the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha which are the centres of political activity and the melting pot of India’s top political leaders. Here, bills are passed and laws are put into motion. The Parliament House is often referred to as the Sansad Bhawan.

Share this Article

Leave a Comment